Berlin Philharmonic

This tag is associated with 7 posts

Free Concert of the Berlin Philharmonic

To watch a free concert stream of the Berlin Philharmonic under Simon Rattle, go to the Deutsche Bank website. Even though this is not a live concert, it might be fun to watch. The “concert” takes place on November 9, 8pm EST.

The first live internet broadcast of the Berlin Philharmonic

The first live internet broadcast of the Berlin Philharmonic

It felt vaguely ironic to be sitting before our computer in Germantown, New York, watching the first live internet broadcast from the Digital Concert Hall of the Berliner Philharmoniker, with Sir Simon Rattle conducting Dvorák’s G minor Slavonic Dance and Brahms’s First Symphony.

Word Creations #3

On Simon Rattle and the Berlin Philharmonic in New York: “The Adagio of the Ninth was a classic Berliner tour-de-force: the extreme polish of the playing in every section created a fabulous mirage of music as three-dimensional space.” — Alex Ross, New Yorker, December 3, 2007, p. 107

A Flowering Tree in Berlin

For those of you who live in Berlin: rush over to the Berliner Philharmoniker website and buy a ticket for today’s (December 22) performance of John Adams’ newest opera “A flowering tree”. For those of you who cannot make it in time: read on …

Nachtseite der Vernunft

Having just returned from a trip to Munich today, I found the new program for the Salzburg Festival 2007 in my mailbox! As you probably all know the festival has a new artistic director (Jürgen Flimm). Since Flimm is a opera/theater person he has put Markus Hinterhäuser in charge for the concert events at the […]

Vengerov just wants to have fun

– Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Adagio in E major K 261 (arranged for violin and piano by Max Rostal – Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 7 in c minor Op. 30 No. 2 – Sergey Prokofiev: Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 1 in f minor Op. 80 – Dmitri Shostakovich: Selection […]

Arditti Quartet Plays Webern, Berg, and Harvey

What a great program! Anton Webern Fünf Sätze für Streichquartett op. 5, Alban Berg Lyrische Suite für Streichquartett, and then, after a short intermission, Jonathan Harvey’s String Quartet No. 4 with live electronics. The Arditti Quartet gave yet another memorable concert and again the hall was half empty. This is something I just cannot understand. […]

Zeitschichten on Twitter